Thursday, October 25, 2012

Seek help when you need it. Don't wait!!!

Sorry for the late post. I was actually pondering on whether or not I should include this but I had decided long ago that I wanted to speak on all of my experiences that took place while attempting to lose weight. Well, recently I noticed that when it came to exercising, especially with high impact cardio, I would begin to lose my breath. I just figured it was because I was overweight. After all after about 15 minutes or so into the routine I would be fine. The problem was after I had completed my work outs. The transitioning feeling would go something like this. "Ah! Why am I doing this? AM I CRAZY?!?" to "Oh, yeah! I've got this! I am definitely coming back to this class." Then I would have this great since of accomplishment with the most amazing feel good high. No real issues right? I didn't think so either. I'm sure just about everyone who works out thick or thin falls into something similar to this but that is neither here nor there. Now, let's fast-forward this another 20 to 30 minutes. This is typically when my body has pretty much cooled down. At this point, I am having difficulties in breathing. My chest is tight, I'm wheezing, and I feel like I just have the worse chest cold in the world! I should have went to the doctor then but on the account that the seasons are changing to fall, I just assumed my body was attempting to catch a cold. I just took some medicine and called it a night. Now, I am going to be completely honest with you. I really am not one of those people who just loathe going to the doctor. It's just that I  currently do not have health insurance. Plain and simple. Now, getting back to what I was saying earlier. This continues on for about a week or so getting worse every night until two nights ago. I regret to inform you of this, really I do but I was suffocating. I began to panic. Largely due to the shock of realizing I had stopped breathing for a moment while I was asleep. I scrambled for the bottle of Primatine Mist. I had this from sometime ago and figured I wouldn't throw it out. It had helped me breath when I was congested and the expiration date had not passed on it. Also, I have always wondered why they discontinued/banned this product but it was the quickest thing I could get to that would provide some since of relief. I hate the burning sensation. It makes me feel like I'm a smoker but it helps temporarily. However at this point,  I was way too afraid to go back to sleep. The very next morning, which in all actuality was only a few hours, my husband and I went to Urgent Care where the doctor immediately put me on a breathing machine. I informed him of what had happened and how I only have serious congestion issues when the seasons change from warm to cold and vise versa. I later found out that some people have E.I.A. which is exercise induced asthma. I also was informed about why the Primatine Mist wasn't available anymore. Apparently, some people had died from over using it! I am definitely considering myself lucky at this point.  He prescribed some medicine and a fast acting inhaler to prevent this from happening again. I want to let you all know that I am fine and I can workout like I normally would if not better. (^_^) Funny, I am feeling kind of emotional recapping all of this. Please, if any of you notice anything out of the ordinary, don't wait like I did. Please, seek help immediately. No doctor's bill is worth your life. Until next time.

-SKBarnes

No comments:

Post a Comment